Supporters 2013


Site_Specific is proud to be partnered with the Eden to Addo Corridor Initiative in their Land Art Route initiative that currently consists of two permanent land art works by Simon Max Bannister (2011 & 2013 participant) and Strijdom van der Merwe (2011 & 2013 participant, Site_Specific co-founder & curator).


Site_Specific depends on the buy-in and sponsorship of larger institutions to provide the desperately needed funds for  basic operational costs,  invited artists,  community projects,  accommodation & travel, marketing and associated lead-up event costs during 2013. Site_Specific's 2013 programme has been budgeted at about 1 Million (ZAR), 50% of which is sponsored in kind or through free contributions in labour and facilities. Without the help of larger institutions to provide the financial backbone of our programmes, Site_Specific would not be able to operate. We therefore thank the following institutions for their incredible support and input.


... & Friends

Furthermore individual organisations closely connected to the Site_Specific project have added their input in terms of funding,  labour, skills, facilities, services, and resources.

Community Projects

A key element of Site_Specific's work is connecting with local communities through programmes that ensure social investment and an exchange of experiences, skills, and knowledge. Through workshop programmes facilitated by experienced community projects co-ordinators, local communities form an important part of our International Land Art Biennale events. Site_Specific thanks the following individuals and community groups for their support and participation.


Facilitated by Erica Lüttich with the following community members:

  • The Kurland, Kranshoek, Kwanokuthula, New Horizons, Qolweni, and Harkerville communities
  • Monica Raubenheimer and the Pensioners Club in New Horizons
  • Lien Roman and the Group of Hope Community based at the Community Centre in Kurland
  • Amos Lwana and his team
  • School children from Phakamisani Primary School in Kwanokuthula
  • Kenneth Magaga and his team from Qolweni
  • Derek Wildeman and his team from Harkerville
  • The Bitou Municipality and the Ebenezer-Ndalo Conservancy members who helped out with the gathering of black whattle material
  • The Boitumelo Sewing Project from Hillbrow, Johannesburg, are joining this project during the August land art event.


  • Site_Specific thanks the various schools in the Plettenberg Bay area who are bringing their pupils to the land art project to engage with the artists and their artworks, thereby promoting the practice of art and the importance of creative problem solving amongst their pupils.


  • Lien Roman and Kurland's 'Women on the Move' and 'Group of Hope' community projects, facilitated by Erica Lüttich & Boitumelo.


  • Erica Lüttich and Naledzani Matshinge are traveling down with Boitumelo project members to Site_Specific's International Land Art Beinnale to interface and workshop with local communities in Plettenberg Bay through the 'Mermaid' and 'Running Fences' projects.


  • Facilitated by Janine Lewis and Melody Schoeman of SEITY performance group in collaboration with LunchBox Theatre.


  • Site_Specific thanks Ingwe Forest Adventures and facilitator Bryan Hansen for their generous contributions to this venture. A total of eighteen participants took part from seven different communities around the Plettenberg Bay area.

Biennale Event Sponsors

The following establishments have made generous donations in terms of their services and facilities to the 2013 International Land Art Biennale event in Plettenberg Bay

Land Art Passport business participants

The Site_Specific Land Art Passport campaign was aimed at facilitating local business in Plett in offering discounts and specials to participants and visitors of our 2013 August event. A comprehensive list of establishments and links to their website has been compiled on our Land Art Passport page.

Board Members 2013

Site_Specific thanks the following individuals for their support, encouragement, advice, and participation.

  • Gordon Cook
  • Estelle Dippenaar
  • Gordon Froud
  • Sam Nhlengethwa
  • Tsepo Nkosi
  • Angus Taylor
  • Mbali Thabete
  • Louise Treurnicht-Barreto

Core Team Members 2013

Without a dedicated group of individuals, a project of this size and nature is impossible to pull off. Site_Specific extends it's deep gratitude and thanks to the following individuals for their volunteered time and input.

  • Creative director Strijdom van der Merwe
  • Events co-ordinator Heather Greig
  • Site_Specific co-ordinator Anni Snyman
  • Morale, logistics and technical support PC Janse van Rensburg
  • Site_Specific Plettenberg Bay co-ordinator Angus Greig
  • Community projects co-ordinator Erica Lüttich
  • Treasurer Richard Britten-Kelly of Excluserv
  • Graphic designer & layout artist Janet Botes
  • Webweaver & social media co-ordinator katty vandenberghe
  • Social media minders Tanya Pretorius, Janet Botes
  • Writing team Tia Egglestone, Tessa Kruger, Kim Trollip, Chris Reinders, Cally Henderson
  • Catalogue contributors ~ Writing: Johan Myburg, Photographers: Francki Burger & Jade Holing.
  • Videography team Daron Chatz Studios (Land Art Biennale 2013), Meijer Janse van Rensburg & Rafieka Davis (Woordfees 2013)

Friends of Site_Specific

And then there are the many friends and family members who come out and support our various efforts and events throughout the year. Without you there would be little reason to keep on going! Thank you!

Would you like to be a supporter?

If you wish to be an official sponsor of our Land Art Events programme, please contact Anni Snyman at . Alternatively, if you wish to make a contribution towards our project please visit our PayFast portal, as a not-for-profit organisation we rely on generous donations.